Skip navigation

Jason,
I am hardly a big fan of yours, I have found you at times to be overbearing, obnoxious and a braggard. I also respect that those are the exact reason you are as successful as you are, and I accept it. I stopped following  you on Twitter  for those reasons , In the age of economic chaos. I did not want to read tweets  about a  Tesla.I stopped listenning to TWIT when you or Dvorak are on , but I always  find you more based in fact than John.
NOW let me say this, I read all of the emails I get from you, and NONE, and I mean none have hit the mark with such precision as the recent one on Apple and Steve Jobs.I offer you major congrats, and a humble thank you.
I became a Mac freak beginning in 07 , while I dont have the income or tax writeoff you have to own everything they make I own a Mini, MBP, Apple TV. iTouch. iPhone 3gs, Airport express and god knows how many service plans.
I got to the point that the proprietary nature of Apple has soured me so much, that the last computer I bought was a Dell . simply because it was a superior bang for the buck, and not a closed system.
I do want to veer off topic and let you know of some insidious practices by Dell that you may want to investigate.
When I bought the PC in May it came with a nice extended warranty. of course it took an hour or more to receive a reply for service. The service center was off shore, which of course is not always a bad thing, I am not a xenophobe. Here is the insidious part you may find disgusting as I did. Dell had one of these off shore reps with a heavy accent offer me premium service with the ability to talk to “people who sound like me” for an additional $179 a year. First off. it is demeaning to have people that work for you have to even make that statement. Secondly, it is an admission that the service they offer is not up to the so called world class service they always claim to have. Thirdly, you get the service and you are expected to do the under the hood replacements of parts , whether you are capable of doing so or not.  I know Apple has issues. but there is no way in hell that would occur. Apple will fix something themselves at the genius bar or send it out.
Dell should be outed for this behavior, I know this may sound anedoctal but trust me, or investigate it yourself, and you will see I am not exaggerating one iota.
Again, kudos on the email and blog post, and you have re earned by respect for the integrity you showed in this article, and especially by waiting for Jobs’ health to improve to report it.

Regards,
Robin  Live in NYC

2 Comments

  1. Wow. I can’t believe that. I knew that Dell’s renowned customer service dropped off a few years ago when they off-shored it. But $179 to speak to someone that “sounds like you” is really disgusting.

      • robintheboywonderingwtf
      • Posted August 9, 2009 at 11:16 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      It is an outrage isn’t it? I asked the Off Shore rep how come he allowed himself to be humiliated into making that sales pitch , he politely thanked for my concern, yet had no answers. I will never buy a Dell again!


Leave a Reply

