Skip navigation

Today January 20 2009 is a day that I never thought I would live to see in the United States Of America. The election and subsequent inauguration of Barack Hussein Obama as 44th president. But after having a few hours to reflect I submit the notion that I should not be as surprised as I was. As I have stated here before on previous commentaries I love to look at history. I study with an open mind and a generally receptive attitude to being corrected when I am indeed wrong about something. My previous commentary about this election is a perfect example of me being proven wrong. I had little faith that our country could overcome it’s historical racism and elect an african american to be president. While many states in this country still have a ways to go in that area, the majority of people have absolutely overcome that blight on us as a nation. I still wonder how states like Louisiana, Mississippi and West Virginia, three of the economically poorest states in our country could overwhelmingly vote for another Republican after eight years of downturn, so apparently there is still much ingrained ignorance for us to overcome as a nation. but I digress. The reason I should not be surprised is South Africa. That country had systematic apartheid as its course of government. One could hardly find a place less likely of having elections where a man such as the historical figure that is Nelson Mandela could be elected as president of his country.
When that historical moment finally seeped back into my thought process, the events that began on the first Tuesday of November 2008 all became less of a surprise to me.
I hope that today was the beginning of the United States Of America’s next step in seizing the greatness that we seemingly let slip away in the last few decades. We will need to be less greedy, less selfish, less xenophobic and more willing to look at new and better ways to conduct ourselves. I know THIS. we have some of the greatest minds in technology and science here, and although the term “re-engineering” is an 80s business buzzword the fact is, that is what we must do as we go towards the future.

One Comment

  1. i can honestly say i’m looking forward to the next eight years…


Leave a Reply

